The Toilet

Since I started taking a particular medicine for Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD), I often have an upset stomach, which I am told is a common side effect. So, I frequently have to relieve myself at a rest-room at the office, at times more than once a day.

Now, the company I work for has offices on three floors of the same building, each of which has a rest-room, with three toilets (little rooms with doors), along with a row of urinals.

Usually, I would manage to find one of the toilets vacant, in the rest-room on the floor where my work-station is, and use it. Then, after a few days, I started finding all three occupied quite often. So, I would go down to the floor below and use a toilet in the rest-room there.

The day before yesterday was an exception though. I found all three toilets occupied in the rest-rooms on all three floors. Therefore, I had to go down to the basement to use a toilet in the public restroom there. It was not as clean as the office toilets and it was impossible to bolt the door from inside. However, I propped one foot against the door and was able to finish my business without further ado.

Whether all the toilets on all three floors being occupied at the same time was merely a freak co-incidence, or a consequence of what has been generally happening at all my work-places over the past few years, is difficult to say with absolute certainty.

Incidentally, I have not really had a problem finding a vacant toilet in the office rest-room since I used the public one.

Leave a comment